#urbankindness take 4

urban sympathy
#urbankindness@theurbanimagined.wordpress.com

Hello there. We are a little more than half way through the 7 weeks of urban kindness. With gratefulness in your heart, I think it is time to pay it forward. It was only a matter of time. Given local and global events of late, I think we can all use a little kindness. How best to experience kindness than to apply it.

It can be as easy as clicking online and donating to your favourite cause. Here are some to get you started:

Or go hyper local and donate old coats to the local shelter. Share your time at local soup kitchens. Buy a bus fare for the person behind you. Support your local independent shop- be it the green grocer, the butcher, the cafe and when you do, buy two and pass the second one on.

I did this recently, at the local baker. The wafting cinnamon and freshly baked bread always tantalises the senses as I walk by their door.  What a wonderful opportunity to sample their goods by purchasing one for me and one for someone else. Honestly, I thought it would be a simple straightforward experience. “What’s the most popular item here?” “What do you mean?” “This is my first time here, what do you suggest I try?” “For the little one we have ginger bread men” “Okay. Can I buy two? One for me and the second one for the next family.” The head baker then comes in on the conversation.”Why do you want to do that?” “Because it’s hard being a parent and it would be nice to be thought of.” “They may not want their kids to eat treats.” “Alright. Give it to the next person.” “I think we can do that.” Trying to pass a little on but deflected momentarily in the name of treat police. I get it, I don’t like how snacks at playgroups are sugar laden. It just reminds me that more kindness is needed in this world so when kindness is presented, it isn’t questioned.

 

Published by

Vivian Romero

I want to activate the urban imagined: stimulating, healthy and sustainable spaces for all (especially the young and young at heart).

Leave a Reply

